DAGM German Conference on Pattern Recognition, Bonn, September 28 - October 1, 2021

Welcome to the 43rd DAGM German Conference on Pattern Recognition, the annual symposium of the German Association for Pattern Recognition (DAGM). The conference is an international premier venue for recent advances in pattern recognition including image processing, machine learning, and computer vision and welcomes submissions from all areas of pattern recognition. It features special tracks, nectar tracks, a special session on Unsolved Problems in Pattern Recognition, the German Pattern Recognition Award for outstanding research in the fields of pattern recognition, computer vision, and machine learning, the DAGM MVTec Dissertation Award, and the Young Researchers' Forum with an award for the best Master thesis. The best papers will be invited to contribute to a special issue of the International Journal of Computer Vision (IJCV).

Thanks to all presenters, reviewers, session chairs, supporting staff, and over 720 registered participants. The proceeding of DAGM GCPR 2021 has been published by Springer LNCS: Pattern Recognition (DAGM GCPR 2021). The recorded talks are available at the DAGM GCPR 2021 YouTube Channel.

The program is available and includes four keynotes by David Forsyth (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Kristen Grauman (University of Texas at Austin, Facebook AI Research), Thorsten Joachims (Cornell University), and Jiri Matas (Czech Technical University, Prague).

A tutorial on Geometric Deep Learning will be given by Emanuele Rodolà (Sapienza University of Rome) and a workshop on Scene Understanding in Unstructured Environments will be organized on September 28. The day will be complemented by a Machine Learning Nectar Track and a Pattern Recognition and Computer Vision Nectar Track.


DAGM GCPR 2021 Best Paper Award
InfoSeg: Unsupervised Semantic Image Segmentation with Mutual Information Maximization
Robert Harb (TU Graz) and Patrick Knöbelreiter (TU Graz)

DAGM GCPR 2021 Honorable Mentions
TxT: Crossmodal End-to-End Learning with Transformers
Jan-Martin O. Steitz (TU Darmstadt), Jonas Pfeiffer (TU Darmstadt), Iryna Gurevych (TU Darmstadt), and Stefan Roth (TU Darmstadt)

Video Instance Segmentation with Recurrent Graph Neural Networks
Joakim Johnander (Linköping University), Emil Brissman (Linköping University), Martin Danelljan (ETH Zurich), and Michael Felsberg (Linköping University)

German Pattern Recognition Award
Zeynep Akata (University of Tübingen)

DAGM MVTec Dissertation Award
Stability and Expressiveness of Deep Generative Models
Lars Morten Mescheder (University of Tübingen)

DAGM Best Master's Thesis Award
(SP)²Net for Generalized Zero-Label Semantic Segmentation
Anurag Das (Saarland University)